First Performances of John McLeod’s orchestral work “Out of the Silence”

The Scottish Chamber Orchestra give the first performances of John McLeod’s Out of the Silence in the Perth Concert Hall on Thursday 22 January 2015
Glasgow City Hall on Friday 23 January 2015
and The Queen’s Hall, Edinburgh on Saturday 24 January 2015

Joseph Swensen: conductor
Maximiliano Martín: clarinet

John McLeod: Out of the Silence
Carl Nielson: Clarinet Concerto
Jean Sibelius: Symphony no. 4

A 150th birthday celebration for composers Carl Nielsen and Jean Sibelius! SCO Principal Clarinet Maximiliano Martín is a hugely charismatic player and will embrace the vibrant yet devilish Clarinet Concerto by the Dane Carl Nielsen, who was one of the most original and brilliant musical minds of the 20th century. John McLeod draws a flavour of this same work in Out of the Silence. Sibelius’ Fourth Symphony evokes the organic beauty of Finland.

John McLeod’s new work is being generously supported with funds from The Bill and Margaret Nicol Charitable Trust, RVW Trust and the Cruden Foundation.